The laws and requirements to get a marriage license differ from state to state in US. Hence, it is very important to know the laws and requirements set for a marriage license in a state where you live. This can become very handy when you look for a marriage license record. Let us begin from Alabama State.
- In Alabama State, both applicants should be present before the officials to apply for a marriage license. In some rare cases, there may be exceptions.
- The County Probate Office issues the marriage license.
- The minimum age required from both applicants in order to get a marriage license is 18 years. However, both the applicants of 14 years old can get a marriage license with parental and guardian approval. Though the parental or guardian approval is required in person, exceptions can be given in some rare cases.
- Proof of Dissolution is required to bring before the officials if anyone of both applicants has been married before.
- Both applicants need to do compulsory blood test.
- There is no need to wait for certain period to get a marriage license.
- The unsigned license is valid for thirty days from the date of issue.
- The license fee is $25.00.